Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Julian Cafe & Bakery. We'd love to have your feedback!

Julian

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to Julian Cafe & Bakery and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Lori 9 days ago

Hot Opened Faced Roast Beef Sandwich

Dam Good! I absolutely Loved this dish. It was exactly what I wanted. I haven't tasted gravy this good in quite awhile. FIVE ⭐️'s

Live24seven 15 days ago

Julian Cafe Burger with Cheese

We arrived into town late and they graciously accommodated us even though they were about to close. Unfortunately they were all sold out of their Chicken Pot Pie. Opted for simplicity and we both ordered a Cafe burger cooked to medium rare. We were both very satisfied with our burgers. They were cooked perfectly and had a nice subtle char. Great flavor and simply one the best burgers I've had in a long time. Looking forward to breakfast!! Great food and great people!! Thanks so much

Susan about 1 month ago

Julian Apple Salad

This is the absolute best salad. I order it every time I come even in winter.

Airplane080 about 1 month ago

Our Specialty - Pancakes Julian

Best pancakes in the world. I live 2,800 miles away and I will be heading there again soon to hike in the area and indulge in your fabulous food. Worth the journey!

Kristine about 2 months ago

Saturday Night

prime rib dinner, better than Black Angus!!!

Debbie about 2 months ago

Julian Apple Salad

This salad is so amazing!! Love the apples and blue cheese combo.

Narda about 2 months ago

Julian Cafe Burger with Cheese

Best burger we have we have had in downtown Julian. We order to go after a long day at work. Thank you!

Katlunas11 2 months ago

Chicken Pie Turnover - Our House Specialty!

This is the best chicken pie turnover I've ever had! The chicken was delicious and the gravy was so good I piled it onto my mashed potatoes also. It's been awhile since I've been back and I still think about this dish all the time. Order this and you won't regret it!

T1r 2 months ago

Apple Crisp Dessert

I have ordered pies for shipment to Minnesota on multiple occasions. I was just told today that you've never shipped pies. Is that true? I ask because the apple pie is heavenly! Dora

Jennifer 3 months ago

Chicken Pie Turnover - Our House Specialty!

It was very good and crust was light and fluffy

Jim 3 months ago

Chicken Fried Beef Steak

This is the best lunch/dinner you can get without getting "over stuffed"!(Leave room for pie)! Morgan goes out of her way too!!

Dunya 3 months ago

BBQ Beef

Absolutely delicious. There was a bit of a wait as can be expected but well worth it. Food was great, service is great. I'm definitely coming back soon

Jaykay1376 4 months ago

Our Famous Julian Apple Pie

Having not lived in California long, I was told to go to Julian for their apple pie. I had a slice with the crumb top and a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top. I have had some good apple pie in my days in Nebraska, where I moved from but NOTHING as delicious as this. In my 48 years, hands down the best apple pie I've ever eaten. We WILL be back when we are able to dine-in again. It was incredible. The town is very quaint and I can't wait to walk through all the shops.

Judith 5 months ago

Back Country Fried Chicken

Oh my! The best fried chicken since the 1950s when my Grandma would visit and make it for my family! When I need fried chicken, it's the ONLY place that does it right! Thank you for such wonderful comfort food!

Kneelbeforetheredqueen 5 months ago

"The Maverick" - Cobb Salad Sandwich

We have been coming to the Julian Cafe for years. I love the staff, they feel like family. Cara and Matt are fantastic. This food never disappoints. I have the Maverick sandwich, or the apple burger or the apple salad and everything is phenomenal. I refuse to eat anywhere else when I ride to Julian. Love you guys!

Reremsen2 6 months ago

Our Famous Julian Apple Pie

Absolutely the best apple pie I have ever eaten. I was visiting CA from Florida and now looking to see if I can have the pie shipped to me.

Beckishelton1 7 months ago

South of the Border Burger

Got this as take out. Delicious! And all of their hamburgers have been excellent. They use quality beef and you can taste it.

Ddewitt77 7 months ago

Hot Giant Cinnamon Roll

The cinnamon rolls are our favorite! We love them!! Christopher & Bryce DeWitt

Karla 7 months ago

Apple Crisp Dessert

I got the Apple cherry crumb, it was delicious, super tasty. Very recommend, I will be back with my husband for more.

Bfulton7 7 months ago

Chicken Pie Turnover - Our House Specialty!

I live in Santee, better known as a flatlander. I have been coming up to Julian for over 50 years. The one restaurant that I enjoy most above all is a Julian Café and bakery. My favorite recipe is the chicken pie turn over. My second one is your great great fried chicken. My wife and die every time we come up to Julian you are the first place we stop. We love you , We support you, and pray God will Richly bless you. Brian Fulton

Avanevad14 14 days ago

Our Famous Julian Apple Pie

As an East Coast student who relocated to study at San Diego State University, every fall I find myself longing for a piece (or slice) of home. Each October, my fellow east coast friends and I drive through the mountains and find ourselves sitting in Julian Cafe. It's something we look forward to every year. The Famous Julian Apple Pie is reason enough to make the trip. It is warm, fresh, perfectly sweet, and served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. The warm apple pie is truly the best I have ever tasted. Beyond the taste, the perfect slice reminds me of home when I miss it most - and is one of my fondest memories of my time in California.

Peg 26 days ago

#2 Ortega Chile & Jack Cheese Omelette

Our favorite for breakfast!

Faith about 1 month ago

Julian Apple Burger

I am generally not a burger person, tending toward a sandwich for lunch instead, but I saw this on the menu when we visited Julian several years ago. It was fabulous! We will be in the area next week and I've put my dibs in that I need a repeat performance -- best burger ever! I had no idea of the name of the restaurant because we'd read several menus in windows, so had to do some sleuthing to track the burger down. Can't wait!

M about 1 month ago

Our Famous Julian Apple Pie

I don't really care for pies, let alone an apple pie but this was an exemption! I was bracing myself for that overly sweet cinnamony taste, but I was wrong. I literally ate my word but it was a delight! It was my first time in Julian and in this cafe, and will definitely go back and have another slice of this heavenly slice of pie!

April about 2 months ago

Back Country Fried Chicken

Seriously thee best fried chicken! I live in San Diego and nothing even compares! I only eat poultry so I'm pretty picky. The chicken was cooked to perfection. Juicy meat but still kept it's crispy coating! Flavor was on point! Get it with garlic mashed potatoes and you won't be disappointed!

Jeri about 2 months ago

Back Country Fried Chicken

I always get the fried chicken. Last time i took my sister who is a food snob and she loved it. Worth a trip to Julian!

Accidentaljoy1989 2 months ago

Lone Star Bacon Burger with Cheese

Always a favorite! Everything on the menu is hearty and delicious. Service is warm and comforting as the food. Don't forget to try the apple pie a la mode

Wardahaq1994 2 months ago

Our Famous Julian Apple Pie

I still dream about this apple pie! It's the best one I've had, the only one that tops the plain apple pie is the pumpkin apple pie!

Amber 3 months ago

Julian Cafe Burger with Cheese

I think for about the last 5 years at min. my family goes to the Julian Cafe the weekend before my birthday and we always have lunch. My favorite is the burger! I don't know what it is or what they do, but the burger and fries are ALWAYS amazing! My family has never had a meal here that we were unhappy with!

Jim 3 months ago

Back Country Fried Chicken

My wife get's this every time we eat here! Half there,takes other half to work the next day!!(I think she has chicken issues?).

Allienunn13 3 months ago

Biscuit, Toast or English Muffin

One of the best biscuits I've ever had!! Stole the show.

Crisneg 4 months ago

Chicken Fried Beef Steak

love the chicken fried steak breakfast. eggs over medium biscuit is my go to comes with potatoes can't go wrong. Every time we come to julian we stop by!! it's a must. they're world famous apple pancakes also amazing get the large stack ;)

Ddsharp33 5 months ago

Julian Apple Burger

What a surprisingly unique, delicious burger!! I asked the waitress what do people reorder when they visit. I'm so glad I tried this! Apples in the meat lightened the beef taste beautifully. Mustard sauce and bleu cheese was lovely! Amazing combination. Recommend highly!!

Beckybates18 5 months ago

Apple Cider Float

Absolutely, overwhelmingly delicious! I have been coming here for years and have enjoyed several things off the menu, but the apple cider float deserves a shout-out. I have never had, or heard, of this item anywhere else in my travels, and the fact that it's made right in town makes it even better. I love the nostalgia of the diner, the old country ambience, and the delicious food that starts your day out right. I can't wait to come back for a hearty breakfast!

Brock 5 months ago

French Dip

Delicious! Best in town hands down! I'm coming back with the entire family

Barronstran 6 months ago

#5 Cheese Omelette

My step dad is a bit of a foodie and recommended this place to me and my family. Was not disappointed!! I tried the toast & bacon (perfectly cooked, mind you), while my kids tried the cheese omelette. They said the cheese melted in their mouth and wanted more! Excellent waiters were attentive and kind. 5/5 stars, would recommend to my wife

Dancemikeyj 7 months ago

#4 Spinach & Feta Cheese Omelette

Love this place! We drive to Julian just to enjoy the great food and friendly staff! I love the Omlettes and waffles.

Mauiwabe 7 months ago

Chicken Fried Beef Steak

I've been going to the Julian Cafe since I could walk and my Dad has been going to this same cafe for over 30 years. Going to this cafe and eating their delicious chicken fried steak has always been the best part! There's nothing like coming from the snow in Julian or driving back down from Mount Laguna and eating the chicken fried steak with a glass of cold apple cider. As well as topping it off with a slice of apple pie a-la mode. The chicken fried steak is delicious and you can never go wrong with it. Thank you for always providing my family and I with great service and a great meal! We'll be coming back for more!

Taniasaldivar 7 months ago

Patty Melt

My favorite dish! delicious!!! and love to add the breaded mushrooms on the side.

Holdonbuckaroo 7 months ago

Belgium Waffle

The Julian Cafe's Belgian Waffle is fantasticly delishous!! They're using a new recipe and new waffle irons that makes for a waffle thats crisp and buttery on the outside and fluffy on the inside! To top it off... i add blueberries and a side of bacon! And "bam" a breakfast to die for!! Its a must have for breakfast at the Julian Cafe!!!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

October 2020:
Charn, Vitaly
Costa Mesa, CA

September 2020:
Carol, Stroud's BBQ
Daytona Beach Shores, FL

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA